A series of surreal events

davtur
2 min readJan 27, 2021

As I sipped my coffee I looked around the café at the other patrons who were all either chatting about their lives or tapping away on their computers. “Being in a café on a lovely weekday afternoon is a great way to spend the day, don’t you agree, dear reader?”, I thought to myself, breaking the fourth wall. It was at this point that the manager of the café burst into the room, screaming: “Who broke my wall? The audience is completely exposed. It’s going to cost a fortune to repair that”. I decided then, that it was all getting a little too meta for me and headed for the door, not before waving politely to the confused audience amidst the rubble of bricks and mortar.

Once outside I decided to take a stroll. I mean it was just lying there, unattended, free for anyone to take. I got a little further down the street when I heard: “Where’s my stroll?”. I tried to quicken my pace to escape but strolls aren’t really made for quick get-aways. I really should have taken the run that was lying right next to it. “Hey you there”, shouted my future assailant as I tried to increase the distance between me and him. He took the run and caught up with me in no time. “Give that back”, said my now current assailant to me tearing back his stroll, leaving me to contemplate my life decisions on the pavement. Just when I thought this day couldn’t get any worse a huge portal to another dimension opened up in the sky.

Design here

--

--

davtur

I like to write weird things. Enjoy them if you can, don’t if you can’t